top of page
  • Olivia Brohard

Installation Week and Updates

Over these past two weeks, we've been working to finish installing everything in the family restroom. Here are some updates as to what's been going on:


1. The Handprint Tiles

On October 28th, I took a trip to Image360 to watch the tiles being printed. Mr. Wilson showed me around and talked to me about each piece of equipment (they have *HUGE* HP printers for printing designs on vinyl), the process for getting the computer designs ready for the printer, and the actual printing phase. After all of this, we took home the 56 handprint tiles to install them on November 4th. They were printed on a 6mm black PVC board, cut out with a machine, and covered with a matte laminate to protect them.




2. The Mural

On Monday, November 1st, I went to the Zoo with my mural mentor, Ms. Sherri, to paint the mural. We started by putting up the template we had created for each wall and chalking in the leaf shapes. We then painted in the leaves and added a branch. To finish up, we added detail and shading to each leaf and the branches. This whole process took us about 7.5-8 hours.



3. Table Installation and Handprint Tile Installation

Today, November 4th, we went to the Zoo at 9am to watch the adult changing table installation.

After the installation was complete, my sister, Ella, and my friends, Grace and Ben, helped me install the handprint tiles. This included laying each handprint out on a table, putting the special installation tape on the back of each tile, and finally sticking them to the walls following a specific plan for the placement of every tile.



4. Final Steps

Now that all the installation is finished, the only steps left are the paperwork and wrap-up part of the project. This includes a review meeting we're having with the Zoo on Friday, my Project Summary Report (PSR), and a media interview next week! After all of this, I must prepare for my Board of Review. This is where I present my project to an AHG board, and they will decide whether or not I've fulfilled all the requirements to earn the Stars and Stripes Award.


This has been such an exciting time! After a year of planning, emails, and work, we will finally get to share our work with families that will benefit from it greatly. I am so grateful for all the support I've received through this process - from monetary donations, donations of time and labor, and most of all the support of so many people.


After Friday, everyone will be able to Stay All Day at the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium!

173 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page